Why does some content have warning text?

One of the principles which I believe strongly in is the ability to solicit feedback early from stakeholders, and incorporate that feedback to follow-on work. As a result, in developing content, I strive to sketch out placeholders for content that I plan to develop, once the basic architecture for an article or concept begins to gell. For example, I have material on this site in a 'Coming attractions' block on the left side of most pages, which highlights the titles of content that is in various stages of development. If you click on any of those titles, you can view the material in it's current stage of development. Similarly, content which has been written for publication on this site is subject to moderation by others (depending upon the rights assigned to users).

While this approach has great benefit, it comes with the obligation to make sure everyone understands that when they are reviewing content that fits this pattern - i.e., highlight when material preliminary in nature (due to immaturity or not yet being complete). However, that shouldn't (at least by itself) mean the material is inaccessible to registered users, but just should imply that it doesn't get 'top billing'. As a result, both of these types of access to preliminary content are flagged with specially stylized text (with background in a different color) to emphasize this point, and remind readers that while they are free to review the material, they do so at their own risk. This standardized warning also encourages content 'beta-testers' to subscribe to updates so they can monitor the content as it evolves.